Mahaparinirwana Train

Home Mahaparinirwana Train

In the Mahaparinirvana sutra, the Buddha tells his followers that they can attain merit and a noble rebirth by going on pilgrimage to the places where he was born (Lumbini), gained enlightenment (Bodhgaya), first taught (Sarnath), and attained Nirvana (Kushinagar).mahaparinirvan-express-train

Buddhism, one of the world’s great religions, traces back with the life of Siddharth when a curious wandering prince from the small Shakya Kingdom located at the foothills of the Himalayas in Nepal, began his quest for the ultimate truth to solve the mystery of existence. He renounced his royal pleasures and meditated beneath the sacred Bodhi tree at Gaya for years before he attained spiritual enlightenment.

Salient Features of buddhist circuit special Tour

Exclusive Train for the Buddhist Circuit Tour : The Buddhist Circuit Special Train is an exclusive air conditioned train for Buddhist circuit destinations and does not carry passenger other than the tourist booked with us for this special tour.

Security on train
Private Security Guards in each coach for constant & close watch to ensure safety of the passengers.

On-board Hygienic Kitchen Car Facility
The passengers can choose from an assortment of sumptuous hot meals (Veg / Non Veg), snacks and cold drinks. Packaged drinking water, tea and coffee are also available to the passengers in ample quantity.

On-board Clean and Hygienic Lavatories and Showers
Convenience of the passengers, clean and hygienic lavatories and showers are provide.

Accommodation in comfortable Hotels of the Buddhist Circuit

Insurance Cover
All passengers are provided with Travel Insurance Cover for the duration of the tour.

Medical Facility
In case of any exigency, medical support can be provided through an extensive network of Indian Railways medical facilities.

Language Guide
On sufficient advance information, tour guides of various languages would be provided for sizeable groups.

Other Assistance
Tourists are requested to obtain a proper Visa for visiting Lumbini (Nepal) before arriving in India. However, we can provides assistance in obtaining Visa at the time of entry in Nepal as per extant rules.


Day 1
Delhi – Gaya (990 kms) :
 14:00 hrs. – Assemble at the Delhi Safdurjung Railway Station. Traditional Welcome and check – in to your respective coaches. 15:00 hrs. – Departure of the train for Gaya. Evening Tea & Dinner served on-board. Overnight stay on-board.

Day 2
Gaya – Bodhgaya (16 kms) : 
Arrive at Gaya Railway Station in the morning. Wash & change, followed by the breakfast on train. Disembark and assemble for boarding the coaches for sightseeing of Bodhgaya including Mahabodhi Temple & Niranjana River. Afternoon check-in and lunch at hotel. After lunch relax for some time. Sightseeing of Thai Temple, Japanese Temple and Buddha Statue. Evening: – Return to Hotel, dinner and overnight stay at hotel in Bodhgaya.

Day 3
Bodhgaya – Nalanda – Rajgir – Gaya – Varanasi : 
05:00 hrs. – Early morning tea & breakfast followed by checkout from the Hotel. Departure for Rajgir by bus (85 Kms). 10:30 hrs. – Arrival at Rajgir. Sightseeing at Rajgir of Bimbimsara Jail, Gridhakut hill, Venuvan. 12:30 hrs. – Proceed to a Restaurant in Rajgir for lunch. After lunch, proceed to Nalanda for sightseeing covering ruins of world famous Nalanda University & Nalanda Museum. 16:00 hrs. – Depart back to Gaya Railway Station. 20:00 hrs. – Arrival at Gaya Railway Station and board the train. Dinner on-board. Departure from Gaya at 2330 hrs to Varanasi (220 kms) by train. Overnight stay on-board.

Day 4
Varanasi – Sarnath – Gorakhpur : 
Early morning tea on-board and arrival at Varanasi. Proceed to the hotel for wash & change (room given only for wash & change) and breakfast. After breakfast, visit Sarnath (10 kms) for to see Dhamekh Stupa, Sarnath Museum, The Ashokan Pillar, Mulgandha Kuti Vihar. Afternoon – Lunch at the hotel. Followed by some free time. Tourists can either opt for shopping or other activities. Evening – Visit to the river Ganges Ghat, Evening Arti. Return to the Train. 20:00 hrs. – Arrival at the Varanasi Railway Station and board the train Dinner on board. Departure for Gorakhpur (224kms) at 23:00 hrs. Overnight stay on-board.

Day 5
Gorakhpur – Kushinagar : 
Early morning tea on board. Arrive at Gorakhpur Railway Station. Proceed by coach to Hotel at Gorakhpur/Kushinagar. Arrive at the Hotel in Kushinagar and check-in. Breakfast at the Hotel. After breakfast, visit Mahaparinirvan Temple, Rambhar Stupa, Mata Kutir Temple etc. Afternoon – Lunch at the hotel. Followed by some free time. Tourists can either opt for shopping or other activities. Afternoon – Lunch at the Hotel. Evening participate in a chanting and meditation session. (Subject to availability of appropriate teachers/instructors). Dinner and overnight stay at Hotel.

Day 6
Kushinagar – Lumbini – Gorakhpur: 
05:00 hrs. : Early morning tea and breakfast at the hotel. 06:00 hrs. – Check-out of the Hotel and proceed to Lumbini. (Nepal) by bus. Tourists must obtain the Nepal visa from their respective countries. Otherwise, lot of time required at the border to process the visa. Arrive Lumbini and proceed to a hotel / restaurant for Lunch. Visit Lumbini including Maya Devi Temple, Ashokan Pillar and Pushkarni lake. 16:00 hrs – Departure for Gorakhpur. Arrive Gorakhpur Railway Station. Board at around 20:30 hrs and board the Train. Dinner on-board, Depart by train to Gonda at 23:30 hrs. Overnight stay on-board.
Note: – Day-5 & Day-6 program may be interchanged as per the operational feasibility. In such case, Day-5 night stay would be in Lumbini & Kushinagar visit would be on Day-6. This would be communicated to the passengers before the commencement of the trip.

Day 7
Gonda – Sravasti – Gonda – Agra : 
Early morning tea on-board and arrival at Gonda Railway Station. Departure for Sravasti (65kms) by bus. Arrival at the hotel, wash & change (room given only for wash & change) and breakfast. After breakfast, visit Jetvana Vihara, Pakki Kuti & Sehat Mahet, Thai Temple. Afternoon – Lunch at the Hotel and proceed to back to Gonda railway station to board the train. 17:00 hrs – Arrival at the Gonda Railway Station to board the Train. Depart by train to Agra (450 kms) at 18:00 hrs. Evening Tea and dinner served on-board. Overnight stay on-board.

Day 8
Agra – Delhi : 
Early morning tea, wash & fresh and breakfast on-board. After breakfast, proceed for the sight-seeing of the World famous Taj Mahal. 12:30 hrs. – Proceed to the Agra Railway Station. Departure by train for New Delhi (220 kms) at 14:15 hrs. Onboard lunch and evening tea. Arrival at the Delhi Safdarjung Railway Station at approximately 18:30 hrs.
Note: All timings & details shown are for your guidance only. Actual journey time depends on the road conditions, operational factors etc.


Translate »